One girl's journey into the world of Figure competition

Breaking the Fast: Meal 1

For the past two weeks I have focused on eating more in order to gain muscle.  I have been working out with more intensity and resolve, working through my reps and sets to push my muscles to failure and then pumping them full of nutrition to make them grow.

I eat a meal every 2 – 3 hours and target getting about 50% of my daily calories from carbohydrates (sweet potatoes, brown rice, whole wheat bread, oatmeal) and have increased my intake of saturated fats from animal and nut sources – these fats are healthy to eat and help your brain and hormones function normally (watch Fat Head).

As crazy as it seems, I can see my body changing by the day.  My legs are getting more muscular, my arms and shoulders are growing and my back, when flexed, is looking good.

I am changing my body.  

I can’t believe that I  pushed for almost a year to gain mass following a high protein, low carb, low fat diet and a simple change in macronutrient ratios and calories has given me results in only 2 weeks. 

Breakfast (Meal 1) is one of my favorites.  After fasting all night it’s important to refuel your body with enough carbs and protein to stop catabolism (the breakdown of muscle for energy) and give you enough lift for the day.

Below is my routine for Meal 1 on an evening workout or rest day and is a good base for anyone, competitor or health-nut.
1. Upon Waking:
– 8 – 12 oz. water
– 5 – 10g BCAA powder mixed with light fruit juice
– Multi-vitamin
– 1 Activia Light yogurt
– 1 protein pancake (recipe below)
– 1 – 2 cups 1/2 caff coffee with cream (1 Tbs)

Remember that I am targeting 50% of calories from carbs and 15% from fat.

PROTEIN PANCAKE
1. Place 1/2 cup rolled oats, 10 raisins, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 packet of sweeter (optional), 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice into a cup or dish.
– If desired, add 1/2 scoop protein powder.
– Add about 2 – 3 Tbs water depending on your desired pancake moistness.
The oat quantity can be reduced all the way down to 1/4 cup depending on your calorie / carb needs

2. Add 2 whole eggs and 2 egg whites – you can put in as many eggs and whites as you like.

3. Mix it up until the eggs are fully blended and pour the contents into a non-stick frying pan.  You may need to spread the mixture until it covers the pan.

4. Keeping the stove on medium heat monitor the pancake until the top begins to stiffen.  Once it’s no longer runny you can flip the pancake!

After the top side is done cooking, I like to flip it again a few times so that the exterior of the pancake is crispy.

5. Remove the pancake from the pan and cut into triangles.
– You can eat it as is, but I like to spread some Laughing Cow cheese (.5 – 1 wedge) onto the top of the pancake and sprinkle it with some sweetener and cinnamon for a little more flavor.

6. Enjoy!

A word of caution: If you don’t use enough water your pancake will be dry and stiff like the one I made the other morning (below).  It was still tasty…but a little hard.

What do you eat for your Meal 1? 

Leave a Reply

