One girl's journey into the world of Figure competition

My “Going Out” Clothes

Thursday had come to a close at work and I was doing a quick change in my office bathroom before I met my trainer for our 7:15PM session.

As I  emerged from one of the stalls a co-worker eyed me.  “Going to the gym again?” she asked.
“Yep – hitting the gym again,” I said.
“I guess…oh never mind,” she said as she washed her hands, “I was about to say something that is borderline offensive.”
I looked up at her.  I was crouched on the ground tying my sneakers, “No, go ahead, what were you going to say?” I asked with a smile.
“I was going to say, ‘I guess those are your going out clothes, huh?’”
I laughed, “Well, they kind of are, but I kind of like it like that.”

As I walked to the gym I passed people dressed up and on their way to grab drinks or dinner and the words your going out clothes kept playing back in my head.

Should I be dressed up now, going out, grabbing a drink?  Would I be happier if I were about to get buzzed rather than about to get my butt kicked by my trainer?

My honest answer was no.

At the end of each day I look back and think, “Will I regret any of the choices I made today tomorrow, and if I will, then what do I need to do differently to try to make tomorrow an even better day?”

I rarely regret my decisions, but I can say for sure that I don’t foresee myself ever regretting going to the gym in order to make my goal to compete happen.

I’m so excited to compete this year and every choice I make that helps drive me towards that goal is a worthwhile one.

So what if my going out clothes are sneakers, sweatpants and a tee shirt?  This is me right now – this is me working towards a goal that I want and this kind of going out – going to the gym – makes me feel energized, fit and amazing and while a cocktail can do a lot – it sure can’t do all that.

Leave a Reply

