One girl's journey into the world of Figure competition

Aside

The Road On Which We Are Traveling

So here we are.

Five months ago today I started training in ernest for Figure.  I have been working out diligently and watching my body grow and change as it has become bigger, stronger; transformed.

I met with my coach at the beginning of June for the first time.  She said I still had about 2 months of bulking to do before we start cutting for my show in November: More shoulder growth.

In a way, I was relieved.

I knew I needed to add more mass and I was also a little anxious about halting growth in lieu of leaning out.  Plus, there are a few parties and events I have in the middle of the Summer and I was kind of happy that I would be able to kick back and enjoy at least a few nights.

Taking stock of where I have been, I have definitely gone through a transformation in the past year.  Check it out:

Super lean in July 2012:

To Super Puffy in April 2012 (after 3 months of bulking):

To slightly more rounded in early June 2012:

Image

To starting to feel pretty kick-ass in late June 2012 (today).  I am not flexing, BTW:

Image

I have felt like my hard body was locked away in a closet for the past 5 months and that was not a nice feeling to have, but things are starting to come around and I’m getting excited.

I have been doing a lot of work on my shoulders (2x per week) in order to get the growth up even more.  I am hoping that by the end of August we will see some significant improvement over today.  Just about one month left and then we’re onto the dieting!

It just goes to show that even though things are uncomfortable on the journey to get where we need and want to be, the  discomfort is often worth it – and this doesn’t apply just to bodybuilding.

Where do you want to go?

One response

  1. Looking good CB! Look at the muscles!!

    June 29, 2012 at 12:55 pm

Leave a Reply

