One girl's journey into the world of Figure competition

The Little Food Scale That Could

If you’re a competitor, you know the importance of tracking your food.  Eyeballing portions won’t cut it (or so I am told) when you’re weeks away from the stage.  You have to know exactly what is going into your body so you can fine tune your nutritional needs up until show day.

As soon as I decided that I wanted to compete, I decided that I had to get into the habit of measuring and tracking my food so that it was nothing more than a habit when it started to really count.

After quite a while fussing with an analog model, I quickly found a scale that works amazingly well: The Ozeri ZK011 Precision Pro Stainless Steel Digital Kitchen Scale ($19.95).

It’s not too fancy and not too simple.  It will measure weights up to 11lbs and changes from grams to ounces to fluid ounces to pounds with the touch of a button.

Image

I have yet to experience this feature, but I am told that it even tells you when it’s running low on batteries.  This baby has made Sunday night meal preparation a breeze.

What do you use to measure out your meals?

3 responses

  1. I love my food scale!! I have a similar one – bought it from Bed, Bath & Beyond almost 2 years ago and it’s still working wonderfully =)

    June 26, 2012 at 10:30 am

    • Christina B.

      I don’t know what I would do without mine. Now if only they had a mini one that fit in my purse…

      June 26, 2012 at 11:31 am

  2. Since I stopped counting macros, I don’t use a scale anymore. 🙂 BUT, I used to use one of those old school ones that didn’t even need a battery. Weighed up to 4 pounds I think. 😛

    June 28, 2012 at 11:28 am

Leave a Reply

