One girl's journey into the world of Figure competition

Hello Mr. Pop Tart

Would someone please tell me why, after many many years – many – of never having eaten a Pop Tart, I’m suddenly craving one?

Just one.

A toasted Strawberry one with frosting and sprinkles. Just a little brown around the edges and steaming hot in the middle. Just about right.

Photo Credit: erineph.com

I went to the grocery store tonight to get some eggs, almond milk and the like and there they were: Pop Tarts.

Photo credit: abetterbagofgroceries.com

I picked up the box to see if maybe I had perhaps remembered incorrectly that each pastry had 200 calories and over 15g of sugar a piece, but damnit, I was right.

My next question to myself was: Could I use a Pop Tart as a post-workout insulin spiking treat? Instead of drinking Waxy Maize could I eat a frosted Pop Tart?

It did not take too long for me to put the box back on the shelf (although I did compare the nutrition information between the frosted with the un-frosted version – you save 3g of sugar) and check out with no cheats except a 4-pack of sugar free pudding (which was really not that great, BTW).

I should have opted for a Pop Tart.

I’m a little weirded out because I’m not even in prep yet and I’m craving childhood treats. I think the last time I had a Pop Tart was in the 90’s.

What do you crave?

2 responses

  1. Ha ha! That is hilarious!!! I shouldn’t have looked at your picture of the Pop-Tart because I’m 3 days away from competing and I’m HUNGRY! Lol. I have the same issue with peanut butter. When I was little, it was no big deal to have it in the house. Nowadays, if I’m anywhere NEAR a jar of nut butter of any variety, there is a good chance I will eat at least half the jar. *sigh* Great post 🙂

    July 17, 2012 at 6:22 pm

    • Christina B.

      Lol – I hear you – nut butter seems to be a weakness for everyone I know (including me).

      Three days away is not far to go! Go get it!!

      Stay tuned – I start cutting in about 2 weeks, so I’ll be posting more frequently – but hopefully less about Pop Tarts.

      Can’t wait to hear about your competition! Stay strong!

      July 18, 2012 at 11:48 am

Leave a Reply

