One girl's journey into the world of Figure competition

Not For The Contest Prepper – Cheesecake

I love to bake.

In the days when I lived in Ohio I baked all the time: cookies, cakes, cupcakes.  I even went through a phase when I baked all my own bread.  Baking was my creative outlet and everything I baked I enjoyed sharing with my friends and neighbors.

However, after moving to NYC, taking treats to work isn’t as easy as throwing a Tupperware container in the back seat of my Toyota Corolla.  Taking a cake on the crowded morning subway requires patience and elbow room.  I’m not saying that it can’t be done, but bringing a layer cake on the train isn’t my idea of an easy commute.

Needless to say, I have not done much baking in New York, so when I received an invitation to a friend’s apartment for a 4th of July BBQ I immediately said I would bring dessert – and I decided to give myself a challenge: A cheesecake!

I found a recipe for what I am hoping to be the best darn cheesecake I have ever made on SimplyRecipes.com.  Mostly because I have never before in my life made a cheesecake.

Photo credit: SimplyRecipes.com

So this morning, upon rising, I made a run to the grocery store for the needed ingredients and decided to put my oven to work for something other than chicken.

The cheesecake is baking away now.  Once this puppy is done, it’s off to the gym to hit back and abs.

My fingers are crossed!

2 responses

  1. I love cheesecake! Quite a good baking challenge, they don’t look easy! 🙂

    July 5, 2012 at 11:18 am

    • Christina B.

      I have to admit, I had a bite and it turned out perfectly! This is definitely a great recipe if you’re ever entertaining – baking time was key – follow exactly. I am no longer scared of the cheesecake. On to the next most feared dessert challenge – Pavlova…

      😀

      July 5, 2012 at 11:32 am

Leave a Reply

