One girl's journey into the world of Figure competition

To Cut or Not To Cut

That is no longer the question.

Last Saturday I met with my coach for measurements and a final weigh-in.  After 8 months of eating a clean, consistent diet of about 2400 calories and working out hard, my bulking phase was about to end.

I had gained 10lbs since I saw my coach the first time over 6 months ago.  While my body fat had increased a few percentage points over those months, when I met her last week I was back to my original BMI.

That was good news: I had gained muscle, not fat.  In order to prepare for a competition in either October or November, it was time to get started dieting right away.

Huzzah!

To celebrate the beginning of the other half of my journey I bought my shoes: The  Stiletto Heel Two-Band Mini-Platform Slide 5″ Heel LIP-102 ($38.99) from Sinful Fashions online.

Things are gettin’ real!

Monday (7/30) I started in with my new diet plan.  I was directed to reduce my calories by about 800, start in with four 30-minute cardio sessions a week and am now on the path towards “the stage” (wherever that may be).

I have dropped about 4 pounds this week and feel remarkably slimmer, but for some silly reason I keep thinking I should look way different right away.

Why don’t I look cut yet?! I asked myself in the gym the other day, and then I thought: This has only just begun.  It takes time, remember?

I took a minute to laugh because when I was bulking I felt the same way, asking myself why I wasn’t getting bigger faster, but I eventually got where I wanted to be.

Every part of this journey takes patience.  Progress comes with time and does not happen instantly: This is important to remember in bodybuilding and in real life.  If progress were so quick and easy, we would all be miles from where we are today.  The key to making it through is your determination to succeed.  Keep pushing and it will be progress that you make.

I can see glimmers of how this whole package is going to come together.  I definitely have a long way to go, but I’m going to get there!

Here I am at one week in.

Where are you in your journey to the stage?

Leave a Reply

