One girl's journey into the world of Figure competition

Sunday

I am about 6 weeks out now. I am 147 pounds and need to be around 138 before I’m totally dried out. I have about 9 pounds to lose, about 2 pounds a week and so I’m really hunkering down to strip down.

I have been struggling lately with the amount of coaching I have been paying for and the amount of coaching I have been receiving. I can’t help but feel like I have been an afterthought throughout this whole prep and am worried that I won’t be fully prepared or prepped.

The thing that gets me is that there have been a lot of dollars involved and I feel like I haven’t really gotten what I anticipated / need.

This does not do a lot for me in terms of trusting what is going to happen over the course of the next 6 weeks. Am I going to get to show day and not be ready? Will there be a show?

My cardio was increased from 2 hours a week to 6 hours last week, so I am now on the cardio train almost every day. I am riding my bike around the city, running, attending spin classes and doing the stairmill either in the mornings or after my lifting sessions.

My diet is at 1500 calories a day now (45 protein / 40 carb / 15 fat). I am taking vitamins and other supplements, along with creatine and will add in a recommended fat burner once it arrives in the mail.

Cravings are starting for food that I would never crave normally, only because I want to taste something. The foods I have been eating are bland, which I never minded before but now since there is no leeway for the off-diet food choices, I am wanting everything from hot dogs to Pop Tarts to Snickers bars.

Progress is being made, though. My trainer said that I was looking tighter when he saw me on Wednesday. I see it mostly in my upper body, but my abs are coming out and I can tell that in about 3 – 5 pounds they will be completely there.

Yesterday when I took a spin class I could see my abs in the mirror as I sweated my behind off. Good to know there is muscle underneath my skin.

In terms of mood, I am snappy like a turtle and tired. My energy is low and I’m trying my best to stay happy and positive.

The thought of having a cheeseburger with bacon and mushrooms and a cold draft beer at the end of this all is helping me get through.

I’m doing my best to keep pushing. My coach said to work on my core, my trainer said to work on my legs, I think I need to work on the whole damn package.

Today I have legs on the agenda along with sprints and steady state stairmill. I’ll post my workout later today.

Where was everyone else at 6 weeks out? What does your coaching consist of? What are you getting for your buck?

3 responses

  1. Figure Girl Wanna Be

    It sucks that you feel like you aren’t getting what you paid for! What is it exactly that you feel you aren’t getting? Brett and I paid $645 for 16 weeks of Mon thru Fri daily contact. We received a nutrition and workout plan and we email her our weight daily. We are supposed to send pics every two weeks but she doesn’t keep up on that like she should and sometimes we forget. We are also supposed to send measurements every four weeks. She changes things with our workout and diet when she thinks we aren’t losing enough. We can call her or email her with questions. But I had texted her on a Sat, the weekends are her off days, to let her know I had reached a goal of 139 and she didn’t respond. I had been working so hard for weeks to see that number and knew she had been on Facebook so I thought she’d have time to say “Great Job” or something not time consuming like that. I texted her again later to see if she received it and she said yes but she and her boyfriend were celebrating their anniversary. She did say good job but that kinda let me down. I never contact her on a weekend and just wanted two seconds of her time. So I’m interested to hear what you think is lacking with your trainer. Hang in there! It sounds like you are busting your ass with cardio. You’ll rock it on competition day!!

    September 23, 2012 at 4:55 pm

  2. At six weeks out, I think that is too much cardio.

    October 7, 2012 at 3:12 pm

  3. Christina

    Hello! Thanks for your comment. I’m now 3 weeks out – I have not been posting for various reasons which I will explain in today’s post; however, I am now on 90 minutes a day… I will comment shortly!!!

    October 8, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Leave a Reply

