One girl's journey into the world of Figure competition

An Intro – Finally

All my posts thus far have been about my meals, supplements and a little bit about motivation, but I recently realized that you don’t know a thing about me or how I got interested in Figure competition.

So allow me to introduce myself:

My name is Christina and I am a 28 year-old fitness loving girl living in the city of New York.  All my life I’ve been into sports and fitness.  I rowed during high school and was recruited to row on the United States Junior National Team my junior year of high school.

I was awarded an athletic scholarship to the University of Virginia where I rowed as a Division I athlete on the varsity team for my first year.  However, sadly, after my first year at college, my love of rowing waned and I made the decision to resign from the team.  Despite losing my athletic scholarship, I decided to stay with the University to continue my studies and to fund myself via academic scholarships.

Brains over brawn.

While rowing was gone from my life, my love of fitness did not disappear and I took up running and signed up for a class on weight lifting as one of my electives.  It was in that class that I learned about creating my own routines, weekly splits and learned the fundamentals of pyramiding and super setting.

I carried my enthusiasm for fitness with me throughout the rest of my college career, into my young professional life up until today, where I became enamored by bodybuilding.

I constantly read about figure competitors: diets, supplements, routines, desiring results like those I saw on the pages of magazines.  I lifted weights diligently and trained on my own for about a year and a half.

I weighed and packed my meals, almost completely eliminated alcohol and did what I knew in the gym.

I found that the more I mentioned to people my goal to compete, the more people started to mention that they knew someone who had competed in the past, so I kept telling people my goal.

I looked for coaches but didn’t know where to begin and just ended up continuing to craft my own workouts, hoping for success.

In early December, I signed up to take a Trapeze Class with some of my girlfriends at a local gym.  Before going I went online and checked out the gym’s amenities and trainers and noticed that one of them trained Figure athletes.

Interesting.

The morning of the class I asked at the front desk if it was true that they had a coach that trained there.  “Yes, he’ll be here later if you want me to introduce you,” the front desk gal said.

“That would be great!”

The rest is history.  We’re now working towards a June show for practice and a September show for placing.

As my father always told me, “You don’t get what you don’t ask for,” and I really feel that I brought this into my life in a positive way.

I believe that I can get there and am excited about my goal to compete.  This journey has already taught me so much about myself and I can’t wait to learn and accomplish even more.

What are you hoping to accomplish this year?

2 responses

  1. Awesome! The rest is history indeed and you are making history.

    Loved learning about your journey to date.

    March 3, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    • Christina B.

      Yes! I cannot wait to see what happens next – so glad you enjoyed the post – more to come!

      March 3, 2012 at 2:46 pm

Leave a comment